CALL/RESPONSE: SANDRA SIMONDS TO LAURA CARTER

Our ILK are dedicated. Sometimes their poems are dedicated too. Here is a poem written by Issue Five contributor Sandra Simonds and dedicated to another, Laura Carter, in reply to a poem by Laura we blogged a wee while ago.

We think it pretty much shouts for itself:

*

A POEM FOR LAURA CARTER

My books are my empire; it is a lonely life.
I hold the camera to the book I desire;
the baby cries. The earth
is immaculate
but nobody looks. The earth is no one
looking. So say the geologists.
When I was young, I was
beautiful, but when I was beautiful
I was dumb. I find
the film in the book
I wrote. I have fifty
copies of the book I wrote. I have made
a fire. It is my pet. I’ve named
my pet “Montana.” I caress
my pet fire Montana. It is a lonely life,
this empire.
“Hey do you remember
when we lived on Levy
and we’d watch TV and go to sleep
at like 10?” That’s
my husband. I followed closely
and then I understood.

*

