LAURA CARTER INVITES SANDRA SIMONDS TO GEORGIA

One thing we’re really proud of at ILK is how our writers talk to each other.
We like that our kind are not just our kind but one another’s kind as well.
In that spirit, here is Laura Carter responding (very) directly to fellow Issue Five contributor Sandra Simonds‘ DISMANTLE THE CRADLE:

*

We found the peach tea. It was a place for pussies to riot again, in tandem with the world of compacts.

I know, Sandra, that you know about surfaces. I do, too. But I believe you when you say there’s something deeper.

If you want to know about me, read my texts, remember our phone calls, listen to the words in the wires. Unfortunately, there’s a contradiction there, and I’m sorry for it.

If our children are dying, it’s because there’s still a child to mourn for, and it’s not the proper place for a child, unless it’s a real child.

“People are bundles,” as Kevin Davies would have it—laterals, yes! Laterals! That’s what can’t be disbanded.

If you’re looking for Beta, well, you found it in me. I’m a Beta-turtle again, not sure of what the future might bring, but wanting to love people in spite of my uncertainty.

Anytime you want to come to Georgia and go eat tofu tacos, I’m down. Consider this to be my sincerity speaking to you, remembering you without having to open my eyes, somewhere deep down considering.

*

Tagged , ,

One thought on “LAURA CARTER INVITES SANDRA SIMONDS TO GEORGIA

  1. […] by Issue Five contributor Sandra Simonds and dedicated to another, Laura Carter, in reply to a poem by Laura we blogged a wee while […]

Comments are closed.

